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Adult Registration: 

 
Sex Offenses Requiring Registration 

 
15 year duration of registration 

Adultery (one party <18) 
Breach of Privacy 
Lewd and Lascivious Behavior (one party <18) 
Patronizing a Prostitute (one party <18) 
Sexual Battery 
Sexual Extortion 
Sexually Motivated Crimes 

25 year duration of Registration 
Criminal Sodomy (one party 16> but <18) 
Electronic Solicitation 
Aggravated Incest 
Indecent Liberties with a Child 
Indecent Solicitation of a Child 
Internet Trading in Child Pornography 
Aggravated Internet Trading in Child Pornography       
(Victim > 14 years of age but < 18) 
Promoting Prostitution (person selling sexual relations 
14> but <18) 
Aggravated Sexual Battery 
Sexual Exploitation of a Child (victim 14> but <18) 
Unlawful Sexual Relations 

Lifetime duration of registration 
Commercial Sexual Exploitation of a Child 
Criminal Sodomy (victim 14> but<16) 
Aggravated Criminal Sodomy 
Aggravated Human Trafficking  

(if committed for the purpose of the sexual 
gratification of the offender or another) 

Aggravated Indecent Liberties with a Child 
Aggravated Indecent Solicitation of a Child 
Aggravated Internet Trading in Child Pornography 
(Victim < 14 years of age) 
Promoting Prostitution (person selling sexual relations 
<14) 
Rape 
Sexual Exploitation of a Child (victim <14) 
Sexually Violent Predator 
 

Violent Offenses Requiring Registration  
15 year duration of registration 

Capital Murder 
Criminal Restraint  
           (except by a parent and only when victim <18) 
Deadly Weapon (Court finding on the record) 
Involuntary Manslaughter (except DUI) 
Murder in the First Degree 
Murder in the Second Degree 
Voluntary Manslaughter 

Lifetime duration of registration 
Aggravated Human Trafficking  

(if not committed for the purpose of the sexual 
gratification of the offender or another) 

Kidnapping 
Aggravated Kidnapping 

Kansas  
Offender    

Registration 
Act 

The Kansas Offender Registration Act (KORA) is 
intended to provide the public with information 
regarding convicted offenders who could pose a 

threat to the safety of their family and 
community. 

 
 
 

KBI Offender Registration Website 
www.kbi.ks.gov/registeredoffender/ 

 
Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public 

Website 
www.nsopw.gov 

 
KBI Offender Registration Unit Contact Info 

E-mail: registeredoffender@kbi.ks.gov 
Telephone: (785) 296-2841 

 

 
Drug Offenses Requiring Registration 

 
15 year duration of registration 

Possession of Precursor with Intent to Manufacture  
  Controlled Substance 
Unlawful Manufacture of Controlled Substance 
Unlawful Sale or Distribution of a Controlled Substance 
 

Other Circumstances Requiring Registration 
 

Any Attempt, Conspiracy or Solicitation of an offense  
that requires registration 
 
Crimes not otherwise requiring registration, but ordered 
by the court 
 
Convictions or adjudications in out of state courts that 
require registration, or compare to an offense that 
requires registration under the KORA 
 

Juvenile Registration:  
Sex Offenses Requiring Registration 

Aggravated Criminal Sodomy 
Aggravated Human Trafficking 
Aggravated Incest 
Aggravated Indecent Liberties with a Child 
Aggravated Indecent Solicitation of a Child 
Aggravated Sexual Battery 
Internet Trading in Child Pornography 
Aggravated Internet Trading in Child Pornography        
Commercial Sexual Exploitation of a Child 
Promoting the sale of sexual relations 
Criminal Sodomy (victim 14-15 YOA) 
Electronic Solicitation 
Indecent Liberties with a Child 
Indecent Solicitation of a Child 
Rape 
Sexual Exploitation of a Child 
Sexually Motivated Crimes 
Unlawful Sexual Relations 
 

Juvenile Duration of Registration: 
 

Juveniles are required to register until 18 YOA or 5 
years from date of adjudication or, if confined, date of 
release from incarceration, whichever date occurs later. 
 
Juveniles 14 or more YOA are required to register for life 
if adjudicated of Rape (person does not consent or 
victim <14 yoa), Aggravated Criminal Sodomy, 
Aggravated Human Trafficking (if committed for the 
purpose of the sexual gratification of the offender or 
another, Aggravated Internet Trading in Child 
Pornography, or Electronic Solicitation. 
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Duties of a Registered Offender 

 
Offenders are required to register with the 
registering law enforcement agency within three 
days of entering any county to reside, maintain 
employment, or attend school. 
 
Offenders must register four times a year in 
person at the registering law enforcement 
agency in any county where they reside, 
maintain employment, or attend school. After 
initial registration, they report in the month of 
their birthday and every third, sixth, and ninth 
month thereafter.  They must be photographed, 
pay a registration fee of $20, and complete the 
registration form with all information. 
 
Offenders must register in person at the 
registering law enforcement agency within three 
days of changes to their registration information. 
This includes changes of residence, employment, 
and school attendance. This also includes 
changes to other registration information, such 
as vehicles owned or operated, tattoos, and 
license information. 
 
If an offender is transient, they are required to 
register in person with the registering law 
enforcement agency every 30 days, or more 
often at the discretion of the registering law 
enforcement agency. Please note, they are only 
required to pay the registration fee at quarterly 
registrations. Additionally, transient offenders 
are to provide a list of places where they have 
slept and frequented during the period of time 
since they last registered.  They are also to 
provide a list of places where they may be 
contacted and where they intend to sleep and 
frequent during the period of time prior to the 
next required registration date. 
 
If an offender is convicted or adjudicated and 
required to register in another state, Kansas will 
honor the registration requirement. The duration 
of registration will either be the length of time 
the other state requires, or what would be 
required under the KORA for a comparable 
offense, whichever is longer. 
 
 
 

 
 
If a registered offender is receiving inpatient 
treatment at any treatment facility, they must 
inform the treatment facility of their status as an 
offender. They must also inform the registering 
law enforcement agency of the county in which the 
treatment facility is located of their presence at 
the treatment facility and the expected duration of 
the treatment. 
 
Offenders are required to renew any Kansas 
driver’s license or state identification card 
annually. The driver’s license and identification 
card shall indicate that they are a registered 
offender. If maintaining primary residence in 
Kansas, offenders must surrender all other driver's 
licenses and identification cards from other states, 
territories, and the District of Columbia. 
 
Registered offenders must report to the registering 
law enforcement agency any and all: email 
addresses; online identities; membership in any 
and all personal web pages or online social 
networks; and internet screen names. 
 
If a registered offender travels outside of the 
United States, they shall report in person to the 
registering law enforcement agency and provide 
written notice to the Kansas Bureau of 
Investigation 21 days prior to any such travel. 
 
An expungement for the crime that requires 
registration does not terminate the registration 
obligation. 
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FAQ’s 

 
Are there any laws that mandate how close an 
offender can live to a school, daycare or 
community center? 

A. Kansas does not have any laws that 
mandate where an offender can or 
cannot live, work, or go to school.  
However this may be a condition of their 
supervision.  The KBI does not monitor 
these restrictions. 

 
Are there any laws that mandate with whom an 
offender can or cannot associate? 

A. Kansas does not have any laws that 
mandate who an offender can or cannot 
be around.  However this may be a 
condition of an offender’s supervision.  
The KBI does not monitor these 
restrictions. 

 
What causes the duration of registration to be 
extended?  

A. Periods of incarceration and periods in 
which an offender is noncompliant with 
registration requirements do not count 
toward the duration of registration. If an 
offender incurs any periods of 
incarceration or noncompliance, their 
duration of registration will be extended 
to compensate for those periods. 

 
Who do I contact if I suspect a sex offender has 
an account on a social networking site? 

A. You can report that information to the 
KBI through the KBI’s public website and 
we will forward it to the law enforcement 
agency having jurisdiction over the 
offender for further investigation or you 
can report it directly to the social 
networking site. 
 

Who can I contact if I have information, 
questions or concerns regarding a registered 
offender? 

A. You may contact the Sheriff’s Office 
where the offender registers or the KBI 
Offender Registration Unit by telephone 
at (785) 296-2841 or by e-mail at 
registeredoffender@kbi.ks.gov 

 


